Ten Things I’m Thankful For Tuesday

Posted on Updated on

I’m just back from my annual Men’s Conference near Atlanta. Being in Georgia always brings back memories from my grad school days in Athens and my time living in the north Georgia mountains. So, this week, Georgia is definitely on my mind.

Ten things I’m thankful for…

1. The great state of Georgia. There has been some kind of mysterious connection between me and the state of Georgia since I visited UGA as a senior in high school. Why, you ask? Who knows. Also, I can’t tell you why no other state strikes me that way. I’m fond of a few cities in my original home state (Alabama) and in the state of Tennessee, where I currently live, but I’m realizing Georgia is the only state I love.

2. Haagen Dazs ice cream shop in Smyrna, GA.

3. My annual Men’s Conference. 7,000 men gathering together in a local church in hopes that God will make His presence known and change lives.

4. Road trips in my little sedan. These are made even better by the GPS system that not only keeps me from getting lost but also displays information about the speed limit throughout the journey.

5. My car stereo sub woofer. After three months of silence, my sub suddenly started to sing again the other day. Potential savings: $170.

6. Perfect lunch portions. Prime example: the parmesan crusted chicken dish at TGI Friday’s.

7. My long lost childhood friend. The trip to Georgia gave me a chance to get coffee with the best friend I hadn’t seen since 3rd grade. After so many years and changes, it’s amazing we still connect on a very cool level.

8. Outlet malls. I’m one of those guys that can hardly tolerate shopping for more than an hour or so. Outlet malls seem to help me accomplish the mission in a flash and at a discount.

9. Georgians. When I was living in Georgia, it occurred to me that people from Georgia are funnier than other folks I had known. I know it sounds wacky, but it just seemed more funny things were being said during those years.

10. Understanding. It’s so easy for two people to come together to communicate, walk away feeling they are both clear on a message, and later find out they were not actually “on the same page”. But to establish understanding – that’s one of the beautiful things in life. I mean, what do we have if we don’t have understanding?

Leave a Reply

