The Last Words of Ray

Posted on Updated on

Hello, men.

Last year, one of my pastors struck out on his own to plant a new church in a nearby town. His final message at our church consisted of “8 Commandments” he wanted to leave with us. One of the commandments has been in my thoughts for a few weeks. It went something like this:

Take sin seriously.
Don’t let sin’s roots grow deep and strong for years and then try dealing with them.

That idea resonated with me when I heard it nearly a year ago, but it has begun to echo inside me again. I know what a mistake it would be to let sin’s roots grow deep and strong for years and then try dealing with them. Trying to uproot that kind of sin would be a nightmare.

It all makes sense in light of my own experiences and intuition, and it also reminds me of what married guys tell me. My married dudes say they wish they could go back and deal with sin before marriage so it would never enter their marriage relationship. Very sobering thought.

My prayer for you and me is borrowed (and paraphrased) from a song the high school choir used to sing:

“God, please give readers and me grace to amend our lives, decline from sin, and incline to virtue so we may walk with a perfect heart before you now and evermore.”

Leave a Reply

