Fatherhood & Daughters

Posted on Updated on

When a guy’s wife is expecting a child, ask him what he wants the sex to be, and he is likely to say he just wants a healthy baby. Nevertheless, I suspect most men who want kids would admit that they hope at least one son will appear somewhere in the lineup.

Though I fall into that category, I must say I have sensed some kind of connection with yet-to-be-born daughters ever since my college days. In college, I began to find myself feeling and relating to external and internal experiences of being a father to little girls (even though I knew I was nowhere close to becoming a dad). Can’t explain it. Don’t know how it started. Definitely came out of nowhere. And somehow – without ever really considering or choosing the idea of wanting daughters – I recognized a quiet assurance in me that daughters will be a part of my future.

I’m sure that’s part of the reason 50 Rules for Dads of Daughters {by Michael Mitchell} caught my eye. The writer is a dad who blogs daily tips and life lessons for men raising daughters.

(There were some statements that didn’t particularly resonate, but my daddy style is sure to include rules 44, 42, 41, 19, 18, 12, 6, 5, 2, and 1.)

3 thoughts on “Fatherhood & Daughters

    Shana Bresnahan said:
    01/09/2012 at 12:15 pm

    You, Joshua, will make an incredible father.

    jesi said:
    01/08/2012 at 11:31 pm

    What a beautiful list, thanks for sharing that blog link with us! I think the older I get (and the more I interact with high school girls), the more I see how critical the father/daughter relationship is for emotional health. So thankful for my dad and appreciate men who love their daughters enough to create lists like these of all the special ways to develop that bond.

Leave a Reply

