Relating To Kids

Posted on Updated on

An extremely well-known actress made an interesting remark in a magazine interview years ago. She mentioned that when she and her sisters were growing up, their father never really spoke to them about the idea of looking pretty. He always spoke to them about the importance of looking smart, strong, and healthy.

That statement stayed with me all this time, so I guess it’s not surprising that I was struck by something I read this week. Someone wrote a piece about little girls and the way adults tend to relate to them based on how they look. Until now, I thought I was the only person on earth who felt internal conflict about this kind of issue, but the author expressed a lot of my sentiments. Check it out.  Lisa Bloom: How to Talk to Little Girls


One thought on “Relating To Kids

    jesi said:
    12/14/2011 at 10:13 am

    I read that Lisa Bloom article a few months ago and it has definitely changed my perspective on how I speak to all children, not just girls. I admit, it’s easy to say “you look so pretty” or “that’s a beautiful dress” but this past weekend I spent more time than usual with kids and was able to try to put this into practice. It definitely takes more effort but if I can encourage kids in developing their character (and brain and other abilities) instead, I want to do that.

Leave a Reply

