Ten Things I’m Thankful For Tuesday

Posted on Updated on

Ladies and gentlemen of the blogosphere, I am embarking on a new journey. A weekly exercise in gratitude. Tune in, and witness the heart-stopping action as Ten Things I’m Thankful For Tuesday becomes a regular feature here.

Okay, so it may not be all that heart-stopping, but I am certainly looking forward to it. I think I’ll have an easy time counting blessings in this way; my life is pretty fantastic, and I don’t tend to take it for granted.

Newsflash: the topic of thankfulness just made me think of a powerful little quote I ran across years ago. The quote read, “Forgetting what you’ve given and remembering what you’ve received is the key to maintaining happiness.” It was actually posted on a church marquee, and it just might be my favorite church marquee quote. My second favorite is one that said, “Try Jesus. If you don’t like him, the devil will take you back.”

Now to get on with naming ten things — today I’m thankful for…

1. String players. Doesn’t matter if it’s one cellist or a string orchestra – I love these people. My ultimate goal is for a small ensemble to follow me around playing theme music for my life.

2. My laptop. It supports the art forms and college football obsession I shouldn’t be without.

My laptop is a dinosaur, but I don't mind at all.

3. AQUAFINA bottled water. Tastes great and has no added salt, unlike some other brands. My suitemate at work thinks I have a weird relationship with AQUAFINA. She is right.

4. The prayers of my mother. They have covered me all my life and lifted me as recently as this week.

5. Great art. Especially the kind that thoroughly entertains while also teaching you something about yourself.

6. My homeboys. A few guys I’ve known since puberty, plus a few I’ve known since college. Most of them have given up bachelorhood, and their experiences in marriage and parenting give me plenty to laugh at.

7. A flash of creativity. Specifically, the thing that happens when you spot a beautiful stranger and need to invent a way to get yourself introduced.

8. My bosses. It’s hard to imagine there are people like them in other offices. Right now, it’s also pretty weird to imagine there are people like them in other offices. If I left my current place of business and wound up in a job where my new co-workers were like clones of my former co-workers, I think that would be unsettling.

9. Hillsong Music. The regular quality of their songs and their tasteful, soulful style are unparalleled.

10. Contentment. By God’s grace, I feel I already have everything I could ask for.

Leave a Reply

